top of page

UE4: Third Person Strafe

I came up with this sort of on the fly, because I saw that strafe in a FPS camera driven mode is not the same as strafe in third person (cos of the dude in front of the camera).

So I gave it a bash.

From my post on the UE4 Answer Hub: http://goo.gl/KPXUtq

Using yourCharacter from MyCharacter in the ThirdPerson project template, assigned in yourGameMode. Be sure to cast to yourPlayController from BeginPlay and call EnableInput.

This works relative to the current facing direction. In the example, you could unhook the == output of both Compare Floats to stop sliding on the ground when the character is not actually running, though I kind of like the surfing look so I included two speeds. You could setup a 'shuffle' animation to play I guess. When the velocity is greater than 0, the running strafe works just fine. Values could be tweaked I guess, but it seems to do the job. It still gives a little forward motion, which I think is better than pure running sideways. The key input is running forward or backward while holding comma or fullstop. Note that if you are using some kind of cinematic mode, these keys are not locked off by that (like the other motion input).

BTW - I just noticed that the direction of comma and fullstop would make sense being swapped round for left/right.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page