top of page

Building my own control inputs

I wanted to make a blueprint where I can drive player movement without relying on the presets, which are constructed in base classes which are hidden away. I set up forward and backward movement, and ascent and descent. I wanted to strafe using the left and right arrow keys, but these are mapped to turning in the default keyboard input, so I turned off Add Default Movement Bindings and doing so lets me strafe with the keys I wanted. Then I noticed that change had turned off turning completely, so I decided to try and make a RMB freelook in blueprint myself, which is no small task since I am not a coder. This is what I came up with, and it works! First I set it up with regular nodes, then I went back and set it up with the new Math Expressions feature, which is really nice.

This post on the UE4 Answer Hub describes it:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page