top of page

Blueprints Communication

In UE4 a new feature is that actors can be built in self-contained blueprints with their own set of internal variables, functions and events. That's fine, but how does one blueprint get variables from another blueprint?

This puzzled me, so I looked up UE4 Answer Hub and patched together what I wanted from Zak Parrish's example. He was printing a string of variable values from one blueprint via a function in another. I wanted a score to be dynamically updated each time an actor in the scene was touched by the player, and not just use a fixed increment value, and I wanted the score to draw continually on the HUD. So how?

I made a 30 minute explanation video. It really took me a few days to get my head around the process I have to say. I tried out a lot of different things, and was really close for most of the time, but a couple of necessary steps hadn't occurred to me. Now I've figured it out, and I feel less hobbled by the newness of UE4.

A lot of crashes occurred during the recording and editing of the video clip, so you can imagine my nerves. But I'm super happy to finish it up.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page